Kyneton juniors win premiership

The Under 16 premiers celebrate.

The Under 16 premiers celebrate.

Kyneton Football Netball Club is celebrating its new premiership winners who took out the top award for the Under 16 Reserves in last Sunday's Grand Final against Castlemaine.

For many of the players it was their last season of junior football and they went out with a much-earned victory.

Despite Castlemaine leading at every quarter break, Kyneton dug deep in the fourth quarter, kicking four goals and taking the game 9.10 (64) to 7.4 (46).

"The boys were asked to give it everything, and they found out first hand what teamwork was all about," said Kyneton coach Matt Cox.

"Saving their best for last, they shut down the previously unbeaten Castlemaine and ran away with a sweet victory."

Kyneton goal kickers included Ned O'Sullivan 3, Evan Davie 2, Joshua Willmott 2, Sterling Keane and James Dyer. Best Players were Ned O'Sullivan, Ben Xiriha, Evan Davie, Ben Cass, Hayden Clapham and Nicholas Fielding.

Ned also took out the Best Player for Kyneton awarded by the umpires.

Kyneton's Under 12D and Under 12A teams both fought hard, but came away runners-up from their grand final matches.

Kyneton's Under 12As took on the in-form St Francis side, who proved too strong on the day. Final scores were 10.9 (69) to 4.3 (27).

Kyneton's goal kickers were Brandon Jeffreys, Charlie Thompson, Cody Young and Ollie Morris.

Best Players were Brady Muir, Cody Young, Ollie Morris, Charlie Thompson, Harry May and Frankie Ellis.

Ollie Morris was awarded Best Kyneton Player by the umpires.

Kyneton's Under 12Ds led for the first three quarters but the Quarry Hill side kept Kyneton scoreless in the fourth and took out the game 7.5 (47) to 5.4 (34).

Liam Fletcher was awarded Best on Ground for the Under 12Ds by the umpires.

Kyneton Football Netball Club thanks all of the supporters who turned out in force to barrack on the Tigers.

* See more photos in tomorrow's Midland Express.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide